What's On

Click here to see what events are happening in your state

Vodafone Warriors – Rugby

The NZ Warriors (formerly known as the Auckland Warriors) are a skilled rugby league football club who calls Auckland home. They are the NRL’s only team from outside Australia. The current coached is Stephen Kearney and the captain is Roger Tuivasa-Sheck. The Warriors are based at Mt Smart Stadium in Penrose, a suburb in central south Auckland.

In 1995 the newly formed Warriors became the first non-Australian club to be added to the Australian Rugby League’s premiership when it grew from 16 to 20 teams. As a result of the Super League war in the mid-1990s, Auckland left the ARL to compete in the Super League competition of 1997, before joining the re-unified NRL the next year. They re-branded themselves the New Zealand Warriors in 2001. Over 21 seasons the Warriors have won one minor premiership (in 2002), competed in 2 grand final matches (2002 and 2011), reached the play-offs 7 times, and supplied most of the New Zealand national team’s players.

Read More Read Less

  • Address

    2 Beasley Avenue, Penrose 1061, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Phone Number

    +64 9 526 8822
  • Email

  • Website